Param Vir Chakra

Please follow and like us:
Param Vir Chakra Facts : –
* The Param Vir Chakra(PVC) is the highest gallantry
award  for bravery of personnel of all
military branches of India .
*  It is  the post-independence equivalent of the
Victoria Cross – Britain’s highest medal for gallantry.
* The PVC was established on 26 January 1950, by the
President of India.
* It came into effect 
from 15 August 1947.
*  it is the second
highest award of the Government of India, after the Bharat Ratna .
*The medal was designed by Mrs. Savitri Khanolankar
(born  to a Hungarian father and Russian
mother) who was married to an Indian Army officer. It is a  coincidence that  the first PVC was  posthumously awarded to her son-in-law, Major
Somnath Sharma for his bravery in the Kashmir operations in October 1947.
*The  PVC medal was
designed to symbolise Rishi Dadich, who has donated his thigh bones to gods for
making Vajra and Shivaji’s sword Bhawani.
* In the medal, the words Param Vir Chakra are  being written in Hindi and English.
*The medal is  made of
bronze and it is  of 1-3/8″ radius.
The ribbon holding the PVC is of 32mm length and purple in colour.
PVC winners list is presented herewith..
1. Major Somnath Sharma 
–         03 November 1947,
Kashmir (posthumous).
2. Naik Jadunath Singh –               06 February 1948, Kashmir (posthumous).
3. 2nd Lt. Rama Raghoba Rane – 08 April 1948, Kashmir.
4.  Havildar Major
Piru Singh ——-18 July 1948, Kashmir (posthumous).
5. Lance Naik Karam Singh ——–13 October 1948, Kashmir.
6.Captain Gurbachan Singh Salaria -05 December 1961, Congo
7. Major Dhan Singh Thapa – 21 October 1962, Ladakh.
8.Subedar Joginder Singh —23 October 1962, North-East
Frontier Agency (posthumous).
9. Major Shaitan Singh -18 November 1962, Rezang La
10. 2639885, Company Havildar Major Abdul Hamid -10 Sept
1965, Khem-Karan (posthumous).
11.Lieutenant Colonel Ardeshir Burzorji Tarapore -16 Sept
1965, Pakistan (posthumous).
12. Lance Naik Albert Ekka – 04 Dec 1971, Gangasagar
13.Flying Officer Nirmal Jit Singh Sekhon -14 Dec 1971,
Kashmir (posthumous).
14.2nd Lt. Arun Khetarpal -16 Dec 1971, Shakargarh,
15.Major Hoshiar Singh – 17 Dec 1971, Basantar River,
16. Naib Subedar Bana Singh -26 June 1987, Jammu &
17. Major Ramaswamy Parmeshwaran- 25 Nov1987, Sri Lanka
18. Lieutenant (Acting Captain) Manoj Kumar Pandey 03 July
1999, Kargil (posthumous).
19.Grenadier Yogender Singh Yadav – 04 July 1999, Kargil.
20.Captain Vikram Batra – 07 July 1999, Kargil (posthumous).

21. Rifleman Sanjay Kumar -04 July 1999, Flat Area Top,
Facebook Comments
(Visited 23 times, 1 visits today)
Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: